Skip to main content

Apprenticeships are offered form Level 2 to Level 7 and each Level has an equivalent educational level.

Framework Equivalent

Level = Equivalent education level


Level 2 = GCSE


Level 3 = A level


Levels 4, 5, 6 and 7 = Foundation degree and above


Levels 6 and 7 = Bachelor's or master's degree


Although not available currently, there are level 8 apprenticeships in development which is equivalent to a PhD.

Some apprenticeships may also mandate additional qualifications which are taken as part of the on programme learning of the apprenticeship, such as a diploma or technical certificate.

The Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education are responsible for the development of apprenticeship standards, and they work with Trailblazer groups which are made up of employers who develop robust apprenticeship standards and end point assessment plans. You can visit their website here.